View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Sep 15, 2019 9:51 pm

Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Parsing Error 

Tried my hand at simple block creation tonight, with confusingly dismal results.
I wanted to create a clone of the F5 seed launcher for the F8 Terrans, and no matter what I tried, I kept getting the same error:
Code:
expected '{' in blocks.lua
{8001,
^

I have some background in coding - hell, it's what I went to college for! I understand that the game seems to be looking for the correct bracket.
There's just one problem: IT'S FLUFFIN' THERE ALREADY.

*facedesk*

I'm probably missing something stupid simple, but I searched and searched, and could not find an answer for this particular riddle.
I messed with cvars, I got the blocks.lua to pop, I added the line that would make the game use it, and that seemed to break everything.
I made a mod folder with a cloned blocks.lua, stripped out everything but the new piece, and no matter what I did, I kept getting the parsing error.
So I made a backup of blocks.lua and edited the original directly, and the game loaded nothing.
I figure there's a syntax issue somewhere, but damned if I know what it is. Anyone have a parts mod I can look at the files for, get an idea of what I've done wrong?
*And please, do not point me to the Steam workshop, it's refusing to download or even register my subscribed mods, even after reinstalling the whole game. Direct files only, I beg of you.

Tue Sep 15, 2015 12:50 am

If you post the file, we could take a look at it.

Are you using Notepad++? The formatting really helps to see syntax errors.

If there's no syntax error, maybe a hidden character snuck in? I don't know if it'll work, but you can try converting the encoding to UTF-8 BOM.

Tue Sep 15, 2015 5:09 am

Sounds like an errant quotation mark or something somewhere.

Seconding "post the file so we can see".

We have a Discord, too

Tue Sep 15, 2015 4:51 pm