View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Dec 10, 2019 9:22 am

Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Expanded Key Binding 

Hello guys,

I have searched the suggestions for this but haven't found a proper place where it was suggested besides a couple side mentions. I am rather new to the game and already loving it; I've played Gimbal before which is similar but lacking in many things that Reassembly does way better. However, there is something that I have always liked about Gimbal: you can bind pretty much anything to any key (not only weapons but also thrusters, turrets, etc).

Reassembly seems to handle thrusters by itself, which is quite useful. However, being able to bind them to specific keys would open an interesting array of possibilities. I am thinking for instance of recoil compensators for large ships with big guns. You could place a few thrusters just behind said weapons and bind their key to the same click of the weapon so they would push forward at the same time that the recoil pushes back. Granted, you can simply make your ship move forward at the same time for this, but I don't feel that it gets the same function; binding them would make them dedicated to those tasks and would allow you to properly "root" yourself to a point in space and act as long-range artillery. This could also open the possibility to add thrusters of instant boosts instead of continuous force.

Although thrusters are the first thing that came to mind this would apply to pretty much everything; overall having expanded possibilities to bind keys would give further options to customize ships with their own control schemes, and if more utility blocks like turrets or others would be introduced this would be even more useful.

Well, that's about it! I like the game so much that I'm even wishing that a DLC/Expansion would be released with even more content and possibilities, despite generally not agreeing with the DLC model :D

Mon Sep 07, 2015 4:54 am