View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Dec 07, 2019 8:00 pm



Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Loosing allies by holding W 
Author Message

Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2015 8:56 am
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
The number one way that I loose fleet members, is by traveling in a straight line. As such I am curious how the AI prioritizes combat maneuvers with evading asteroids with following the leader. On numerous occasions I see my fleet count drop by half, sometimes they return three minutes later sometimes they don't. In an effort to keep my fleet count up here is what I did.

The Marksman takes a reusable chassis and mounts a ranged weapon to it.
Image

The Marksman cannot keep up with the Shintao.
Image

So I designed a slower flagship, the Archimedes
Image

...and faster escort in the Gnat
Image

But I was still loosing fleet members due to getting too far so in came the Flea
Image

My style as of late has been to tell my fleet to attack (via spacebar and middle mouse) something agile while I attack something slower. Im curious do you guys loose 60% of the ships you produce because you hold W?


Fri Dec 11, 2015 9:40 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 10:19 pm
Posts: 406
Location: Earth
Reply with quote
There's not much you can do, no matter what ship you make they'll only go at a max speed the ai is telling them to even if it can go faster. (so it seems)
The best you can do make make ships with a lot of fast missiles and take your time, even then you'd probably loose some ships, it's just how it is.
One trick is making factories spawn ships inside of your ship but it requires some space to be sacrificed.
Example:
https://youtu.be/vRRx9eyYKCk?t=5m15s

_________________
"If the ai can do it player fights would be ruined.
If the player can do it the experience would not be the same.
Just leave the lone developer to his job and everything will turn out okay."


Image

Reassembly x10


Fri Dec 11, 2015 3:24 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 7:31 am
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
One thing you could do is increase the number of sectors rendered near you, though this would increase cpu use and it's only a guess.

_________________
This is a SIGNATURE.


Thu Feb 04, 2016 7:49 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 3 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software